The Phoenix Project

The Spider-gram

After listening to a 12 minute composition by Professor Richard a Causton, I was left with many emotions which were so contrasting that I could hardly imagine what the final piece could look like to represent my interpretation. The spider gram shows all the different feelings I felt, and I highlighted each with a different color because I associate those feelings with them.

Sketches

I’ve come up with 3 ideas and sketched them.

The first one is something in between a collage and an abstract. It simply has strokes of paint all around the canvas including all the colors which are presented on the spider gram. The central figure is orange emphasizing the Phoenix.

The second one is a portrait with half of the face of a woman and then half of the face of a Phoenix, showing rebirth; the black background reinforces the idea of death and rebirth.

The third and the final one, which I then chose for my final idea has an oval skin tone shape, which also looks like an egg which can be linked to the idea or “birth”. Next to it is an abstract shape to represent Phoenix.

Final Version

This painting was done on a canvas using acrylic paint and watercolors. I then edited it in Procreate to add the light on the edges of the Phoenix and yellow stokes in the eye area with connects the shape to the background.

Leave a comment